top of page
  • Writer's pictureHon Sam Farraway MLC


The hard work and diligent service of 17 NSW State Emergency Service (NSW SES) volunteers has been recognised at a special event in Orange.

NSW Upper House MP Sam Farraway, representing the Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott, joined NSW SES Commissioner Carlene York, and federal member for Calare Andrew Gee, to present awards to each of the volunteers, acknowledging their years of service.

Mr Farraway congratulated the recipients for their commitment to the safety of their community.

“To see so many volunteers spend 10, 20 and even 30 years with NSW SES in the pursuit of keeping their communities safe is incredible,” Mr Farraway said.

“These milestones and their ongoing work with the service, I am sure, will inspire others to join in protecting their fellow community members from storms and floods.”

Commissioner York said these volunteers, who work with the Canowindra, Eugowra, Molong, and Orange City Units, are incredibly passionate and dedicated.

“Together, they represent a total of 315 years of combined service,” Commmissioner York said.

“It is wonderful to see our volunteers dedicate so many years for the benefit of others.”

“Over the last three years, these volunteers have helped respond to more than 1,000 requests for assistance in their local communities.”

“It would be amazing to see how many they have responded to over the decades.”

Commissioner York added that without volunteers, there would be no NSW SES.

“I want to thank each of our members for their service, the professionalism and, of course, their willingness to give up their time for their community,” she said.

“I also want to acknowledge our volunteers’ families and employers – their support has enabled our volunteers to dedicate the years of service they have given.”

Commissioner York, Mr Gee and Mr Farraway presented awards to:

  • National Medal: Mareea Agustin, Jeanette Bowd, Grant Hill, James Maclean and William Rollo

  • National Medal – Clasp 1: Alfred Dukes, Letitia Neville and Robert Stevens

  • 30 Year Long Service Award: Gregory Agustin and Ann-Marie Stevens

  • 25 Year Long Service Award: Peter Barnes, Alfred Dukes, Letitia Neville and Robert Stevens

  • 20 Year Long Service Award: Henry Hoswell and Robert O’Neill

  • 15 Year Long Service Award: Mareea Agustin, Jeanette Bowd, Grant Hill, James Maclean and William Rollo

  • 10 Year Long Service Award: John Agustin, Desmond Cassidy, Dallas Pearce and Douglas Watson


The National Medal recognises long and diligent service in organisations that protect life and property at some risk to their members. The Medal is awarded to persons for long service in eligible organisations who fulfil the primary function and meet other criteria. Fifteen years eligible service is necessary to qualify for the Medal. Clasps are available for each additional 10-year period. The Long Service Award is awarded to members of NSW SES who have achieved a period of five years diligent service, and then every five years after.


bottom of page